Jersey Maxi Dress

With two yards of grey rayon jersey from www.fabric.com, and this McCall’s pattern, I sewed this dress over a few weeks time.  A couple days to trace the pattern, another day to cut the fabric, and 2 days to sew.  I have an old serger I bought for 100 dollars, it’s loud, noisy, and vibrates my whole sewing table, but it does the job.

In this cold weather, I’ve been wearing this dress with boots, leggings or jeans, and a jacket or big sweater on top.

It’s super comfortable, light, and flowy.

I also used my regular sewing machine, to do the gathers.

And I used a simple zig zag to  hem the sleeves, the neckline, and the hem.

On a side note, Chic ‘n’ Cheap is doing an amazing giveaway, $100 to my favorite online store, shopbop!  Check it out :)

About needleandstring

mom of two, love creating and finding the intersection between fashion and craft
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jersey Maxi Dress

  1. Katy says:

    Bea, that dress is amazing and it looks beautiful on you! You are such a sewing/knitting inspiration!

  2. Beso says:

    Thank you for entering Beso’s Hold Everything Handbag Giveaway. We hope you win the Marc Jacobs Handbag

    Good luck!
    Beso.com

  3. Kristin says:

    That looks SO comfy!

Leave a Reply

