Sweet Pod Baby Carrier

Here’s my new baby carrier!

This was a very time consuming project, but very needed around our house!  Once I started sewing for myself, I developed a huge appreciation for anyone in the garment making industry.  It took me a few weeks of prep and sewing to finish this carrier.  I had to cut out the pattern pieces, wash and press the fabric, cut out all the pieces, and sew them together.  I had the hardest time picking out a fabric, and settled on this fabric from Purl.  The solid color fabric is an organic canvas, also from Purl, and the lining is some Heather Ross gnomes fabric I’ve been hoarding in my stash for a few years now.

I used the Sweet Pod baby carrier pattern.  The instructions were amazingly clear, and I managed to make it through without any major mishaps, except for the few nights I stayed up WAY too late, sewing and watching TV at the same time.  My only problem, is that the little one has started walking, and now, when he sees me coming with the baby carrier on, he screams and toddles away from me.

Isn’t the sleeping hood so cute?  The carrier is SO comfortable,  and really supports the baby, and is comfortable for me.

 

About needleandstring

mom of two, love creating and finding the intersection between fashion and craft
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sweet Pod Baby Carrier

  1. Katy says:

    Congratulations on making the SweetPod!! I’ve had my eye on it for a while and the next time we have a baby I’m making one! We have an Ergo, which is awesome, but I want something more stylish without paying the big money for a Beco! I”m sure once the novelty of walking wears off, you’ll be able to use it more! I still put Luke in the Ergo at the grocery store a lot because it really helps us all get through it more happily!

    • that’s good to hear, it would be really sad if J’s babywearing days were over! If we end up having a girl one day, I totally want to make a more feminine version, there are so many things you could do!

  2. Kathy says:

    This is too cool! I love the fabric. Are you still using the same sewing machine? From the back, he looks just like his brother! Like brother, like brother?

  3. jessica says:

    It looks fantastic! I hope you enjoy it.
    Thanks for the kind words about the pattern 🙂

  4. sewing is such hard work. I’m horrible at following a pattern! This little carrier came out fantastic! So cute!

  5. I’m having a giveaway on my blog for a necklace from Pie N The Sky if you’d like to check it out. 🙂 x
    devorelebeaumonstre.com

  6. blue milk says:

    Love your photos!

Leave a comment